Donate to the General Pun’d

“I used to be Snow White, but I drifted.” – Mae West

So we’re going to have a very big snowstorm here in Chicago, according to most news outlets. I’m calling it “Snowmageddon 2011: The Chicagopocalypse”. The Chicago Tribune even says the potential snowfall could break the city record, currently held by a blizzard that buried the city under 23 inches of snow in 1967. (The 1979 storm often held responsible for un-electing Mayor Bilandic was a more modest 19 inches.) At any rate, right now the snow puns are falling faster than the snow, and I’m hoping to make a collection.

“I’m as pure as the driven slush.” – Tallulah Bankhead

I’ll update this post throughout the day with any great puns I hear. Contribute in the comments, or tweet me @imagesandkeys.

  • “SnOMG”
  • “The Snowtorious B.I.G.”
  • “Snow Much More”
  • “The Snowdiac Killer” (it’s the only good, original one I’ll come up with all day)
  • Thor: Have any good snow puns?
    Dan: An avalanche of them
    Dan: But don’t pressure me for them, or you’ll be on thin ice
    Dan: if you catch my drift
    Thor: Die slowly.

Here are a few from my coworkers, Erin and Brett:

  • “The Blizzard of Oz”, which Brett informs me is an Ozzy Osbourne album. I still like it.
  • “Snowgadishu, Snowmalia” (Erin)
  • “The Four Snowmen of the Snowpocalypse” (Erin)
  • “You and Me and Everyone We Snow” (Brett)
  • “Snowbodan Milošević” (Erin)
  • “Bubba Snow-Tep” (Erin)
  • “It’s the End of the World as We Snow It” (Brett)
  • “Snowtel Rwanda”, “Snowtel California” (both Erin)
  • “The Posnowidon Adventure” (Brett)
  • “Pandesnownium” (Brett)

And, just so I don’t get it as a submission, “snowmageddon”.  Heard it already, chilluns.

Postscript: The RedEye must have been holding their own contest – their front page has “Snowverload”, which is pretty good, but it’s no “Snowbodan Milošević”.

Leave a Reply

