Did you hear the one about the judge in Louisiana?

He refuses to marry interracial couples because “in [his] experience those marriages don’t last very long,” and he has concerns for the children.

Interracial couple denied marriage license in La.

Oh, it’s not a joke. Fuck me.

“I’m not a racist. I just don’t believe in mixing the races that way,” [Keith] Bardwell [Justice of the Peace for Tangipahoa Parish] told the Associated Press on Thursday. “I have piles and piles of black friends. They come to my home, I marry them, they use my bathroom. I treat them just like everyone else.”

He believes that the children of such couples are hated by the community. I guess he forgot that one of them is the President of the United fucking States.

And then on the other side, the ACLU attorney said, “The Supreme Court ruled as far back as 1963 that the government cannot tell people who they can and cannot marry.” Bullshit, they tell me that everyday.

I mean seriously. It’s 2009. I can access a worldwide network of pure information, uncountable binary digits, on a device that I carry in my pocket, and which by the way also allows me to speak to people thousands of miles away no matter where I’m standing, and take pictures of where I am to show them. It can even receive signals from satellites whizzing around in outer space. And a justice of the fucking peace tells a MAN AND A WOMAN that they can’t marry because their children would be targets for ridicule and besides their marriage isn’t going to last long anyway? I’m living in the fucking future, isn’t this bullshit supposed to be over with?

I’m done, seriously.

Leave a Reply

