A Celebrity Connection

I discovered something HILARIOUS tonight.

So, tonight I watched High School Musical for the first time. Excellent movie. So I looked it up on IMDB, like I do, started puttering around, and ended up at the page on Lucas Grabeel, who plays Ryan. Lucas is from Springfield, Missouri, originally, and we’re not that far apart in age. Also we both did Speech & Debate in high school.

… This is a lame connection, I know, but in the spring of 2003, at the end of my sophomore year of high school, I went to the state competition in… some event or other. (If anybody remembers, that’d be great. I feel like this is the year our Readers’ Theater got disqualified, but I’ve forgotten.) That same year, Mr. Grabeel took fifth in Poetry Reading. So at the very least we were in the same building at the same time. Far out? Not very. Damn. I was so excited when I started writing this.  I have a t-shirt with his name on it, though, and there’s a fair likelihood he has one with mine.

Four students looking bored next to a pool table

A couple of the folks at State Speech. Theoretically, Lucas Grabeel could have been there, somewhere.

Leave a Reply

