The War at Home

Rami Malek, who played Kenny on Fox sitcom The War at Home.

Rami Malek, who plays newly out gay character Kenny on The War at Home. Photo courtesy Zap2It.com.

Damn.

Damn, damn, damn, damn, damn.

So there’s this show on the FOX Network, called The War at Home. You may have seen it, maybe not. It’s sort of Married… with Children meets All in the Family meets King of Queens meets… well, you get the idea. Critics tend to hate it, claiming that the main character’s (Michael Rapaport) bigotry is not shown as a bad thing; instead, you’re encouraged to laugh with him. I disagree, and I think the show is funny pretty much all the time. (Then again, I’m 20. Vulgarity is kind of a way of life for me.)

I’d forgotten that FOX moved the show to Thursdays from its old timeslot on Sunday nights. So I missed Kenny’s (Rami Malek, Night at the Museum) coming out, which aired last night. For those of you who aren’t in the know, the audience has been in on that fact since the pilot, and I’d been looking forward to this storyline. Kenny is one of the first (if not the first) attractive gay teenagers to ever be a character in a prime time sitcom, in my opinion. (I can do without the guy on My So-Called Life, thank you very much; at the very least, Kenny’s the first gay teenager in a prime-time sitcom that doesn’t drive me completely up the wall).

What makes it worse is that by all accounts, the episode was handled sensitively and realistically. I could’ve used that back in the day, and I hope today’s kids are taking it just as seriously. I will not miss the rerun.

Leave a Reply

