A Moment of Pretension

Those of you who hate classical music and/or short films might want to skip this one.

A frame from the movie "A Movie", by Bruce Conner.

A frame from "A Movie" by Bruce Conner.

So, today, in my Media Texts class, we watched a movie, titled (imagine!) A Movie. You might have seen it. It’s 14 minutes of stock footage, edited… interestingly. It’s the sort of short film that it’s easy to get meaning out of, and pretty easy to watch. Now, I thoroughly enjoyed the movie, but what really struck me was the score, which I later discovered is called The Pines of Rome, by early 20th century composer Ottorino Respighi. It was this amazing, intense piece of classical music that left a tear in my eye at the end of the film. I haven’t been that inspired by a piece of movie music since… well, since Harry Gregson-Williams’s score to Team America: World Police. (Any composer who can make me cry about puppets has got it going on.)

So I bought the music on iTunes, and I’ve been sitting in my room conducting it since class ended. I don’t know if that makes me excessively pretentious or just horrendously geeky, but I don’t particularly care. I’m just enjoying the music.

Leave a Reply

