T.R. Knight Comes Out

Back when it premiered, I watched Grey’s Anatomy, for the same reason many women do: there’s hot guys in it. (People CAN’T be watching it for the plot, right?) But while my lady friends drool over various Drs. McDreamy & McSteamy & McCreamy (or whatever), I always had a thing for good ol’ Dr. O’Malley. What can I say? He’s just really cute, I think.

T.R. Knight

T.R. Knight, star of ABC's Grey's Anatomy. Photo courtesy ABC.

Anyway, I quit watching after a while, mainly because the time conflicted with a meeting I had every week. So imagine my surprise when I read this on one of my blogs today:

Whether or not it was related to the brawl that erupted between Isaiah Washington and Patrick Dempsey on the set of Grey’s Anatomy earlier this week, in which Washington allegedly referred to T.R. Knight with several derogatory slurs, Knight revealed to People magazine today that he is gay:

“I guess there have been a few questions about my sexuality, and I’d like to quiet any unnecessary rumors that may be out there. While I prefer to keep my personal life private, I hope the fact that I’m gay isn’t the most interesting part of me.”

Perhaps I’ll have to start watching that show again. But I’m really… I don’t know. “Proud” is the wrong word. I’m… gratified, I guess, that an attractive actor with his career on the rise, (secondary) star of a hit television show, has come out as gay. He was not forced out of the closet, no leaked pictures or anything, and he’s not doing it to give his career a boost. (Did anybody give a hoot about Lance Bass before he gave the scoop to People?) If I have to come out when I’m famous, this is the man I will take as my role model. Thanks, T.R.

Leave a Reply

